X
    Categories: Russian

Sergey Shipov to commentate live on Kramnik – Aronian

After a long break I’m again going to be translating live commentary by GM Sergey Shipov. He’s covering the eagerly anticipated 6-game match in Zurich between Vladimir Kramnik and Levon Aronian, and you’ll be able to find my live translation at ChessVibes.

Note: all of Shipov’s commentary can now be found on the following dedicated page: http://www.chessintranslation.com/aroniankramnik2012/

The eagle-eyed (or even the not so eagle-eyed!) will have spotted it’s again become very quiet here at Chess in Translation. That’s largely because I’ve recently been working much more closely with ChessVibes, including writing a number of reports and articles there this month:

I’m now also going to be providing live translation of Sergey Shipov’s commentary on the upcoming Kramnik – Aronian match in Zurich (see this ChessVibes preview for all the information). Shipov of course needs no introduction for readers of this site, and is unquestionably the master of the difficult format of live text commentary. He manages to combine instruction and insight into the thought processes of the players with humour and a real literary talent – a wonderful supplement to the ubiquitous computer analysis.

You can find all the previous live commentary by Sergey Shipov available at Chess in Translation here (there are also special game viewers for Bilbao 2010 and Tata Steel 2011), while I last translated his commentary on Biel 2011 for WhyChess (one game each round has commentary except for Round 10).

Kramnik – Aronian begins at 15:00 Zurich time (14:00 London, 09:00 New York) on Saturday 21st April. Sergey Shipov’s commentary will appear in Russian at Crestbook, and in English at ChessVibes. Don’t miss it!

mishanp :